//
you're reading...
Foodie Reviews, Vancouver

Review: Cafe Medina

Hello relatively small group of readers. I am the new, recently added contributor to BONBON BERRY. You can call me Su. I will mostly be writing restaurant reviews. I like to cook and eat, but not bake because I do not have a sweet tooth. Normally my writing isn’t this stiff but I am bad at introductions. So without further ado, here is Cafe Medina!

/Hehe, Su has a proper intro! Maybe I should do one for myself too… Lol nah!/

Oh yeah, reviews sometimes come with a story. And are often a collaborative post. /Like/

Story: I’ve tried Cafe Medina once, but that was before i obsessively took pictures of everything I ate. Though I think I do have pictures of what I ate during my first visit somewhere, but I need to find the cable for that camera since my MAC is not XD card compatible. So instead, you’ll be getting phone-camera-quality photos from our most recent visit to Cafe Medina. Which aren’t that good. But Nana might have better pictures :)

/I do! But they’re only slightly better :P Still a cell cam/

We arrived there and had to wait for Jellibeans….*snicker*…You know what, I can’t call him that. It makes me laugh. I’ll call him Clueless instead. I shall also call Gummiebears, Elephant. Anyways, the 3 of us, Nana, Elephant, and I arrived at the restaurant around lunch time. It was pretty busy and put our names down on the waiting list while we waited for Clueless. Well, we did get a table in 5 minutes but it so happens that your entire group has to be there in order to be seated during busy hours. And since Clueless wasn’t there, we had to give up our table…and eventually wait another hour for a table to be free again. Thanks, Clueless. Anyways, onto the food. /Foooooood!/

Food: We went to Cafe Medina towards the end of summer so my memory is a bit hazy on how the food tasted.

Paella:

“1 baked egg, curried orzo, Hungarian chorizo, zucchini, red pepper, roasted corn, grano padano. Watercress, avocado, and tomato salad”

Elephant ordered the Paella ($12). I don’t really remember much about this since I had a small taste of the orzo which I do remember having a curry taste. I’m surprised she finished the avocado though. Elephant hates avocado for God knows what reason :P

/It looked good. It was colourful too./

Fricasse:

“2 fried eggs, braised short ribs, roasted potatoes, caramelized onions, arugula and smoked applewood cheddar. Grilled Foccacia.”

Clueless ordered the Fricasse ($16). I love runny yolks so this was awesome for me. I only got to taste a bit of the braised short ribs (because Clueless doesn’t like sharing :( ) but it had a hint of sweetness and was nice and fork tender. I’m sure he enjoyed the rest of it *forever alone

/It looked okay. I thought the serving was a bit small though./

Les Boulettes:

“Spicy Moroccan lamb and beef meatballs, roasted vegetables. Houmus, raita. Grilled foccacia.”

 

Blurry picture again :P Nana ordered Les Boulettes ($14) and it was certainly comfort food on a cold? summer’s day. The foccacia was crisp and went well with the sauce as well as the houmus which was well flavored and wasn’t pasty in texture.

/I really liked the meatballs and roast veggies and houmus. Basically, the whole dish haha. The tomato-based sauce tasted very fresh with a nice fresh herby flavour. There was mint, thyme, cilantro for sure. Maybe bayleaf too.

The meatballs were juicy. I don’t really remember how they tasted, but the texture was good. The roasted veggies were soaked with the sauce quite nicely. There is a lot of sauce. Next time, I would get a side like fries or more foccacia to dip in the sauce! It’s too good to waste!

The houmous/raita is a very rich sauce too. The grilled foccacia was perfect to dip in that. The bread itself tasted great. It was nicely toasted with herbs.

Les Boulettes is a very filling dish. It comes fresh hot from the oven! I like it./

I ordered a Saumon Fume ($12) which is described as “Open faced ciabatta sandwich. Fried egg, smoked salmon, caper cream cheese, sliced avocado, arugula, peppadew and artichoke salad”. I really liked the avocado with the caper cream cheese and the accompanying salad which I finished quickly. Unfortunately I’ve somehow lost the picture for this dish. Boooo >:

/Sadface, I don’t have a pic for it either :c The sandwich looked a bit on the smaller side, but the salmon was generous for the size./

I give Cafe Medina a 3.5/5 berries for food and 3.5/5 berries for service.

/Berrrrrries!! It has to be berries./

~su & /nana/

Cafe Medina on Urbanspoon

Discussion

One thought on “Review: Cafe Medina

  1. Seriously Su? Really??… 0-0 Hi Su…

    Like this

    Posted by unwrittensagas | December 30, 2011, 10:36 pm

Comments or feedback much appreciated :3

Top Chewed By You

Follow BERRY SWEET EATS on WordPress.com
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 503 other followers

